Sex & Kidnap Offender Registry Unit
Utah's sex & kidnap offender registry is administered by the Department of Corrections. We process thousands of registrations each year. However, the agency is not in charge of actively registering offenders nor of tracking them for compliance once they are registered. These functions are performed by local law enforcement agencies. Corrections only gets involved in cases where the offender is still under supervision through Adult Probation & Parole.
Sex Offender Registry
Registrable Offenses & Time on Registry
Conditions for Sex Offenders (offenses victimizing a minor) under Probation/Parole Supervision
Conditions for Sex Offenders (offenses victimizing an adult) under Probation/Parole Supervision
Registry Unit's Responsibilities
Sex Offender Registry Statistics
Utah's Laws on Registered Sex Offenders (external link)
Registry Unit's Responsibilities
• Provide information to the public.
• Work with local county sheriff's offices and city police departments to process registrations and enter supplied information into the registry for public viewing.
• Review pre-sentence investigation reports and police reports for specific crime information that may be accessed by local law enforcement in investigations.
• Work with local law enforcement regarding non-compliant registrants.
• Work with courts and other states' registration units concerning registrants.
• Receive and process tips from the public.
• Deal with and track the approximately 7,000 offenders currently appearing on the registry.
Sex & Kidnap Offender Registry Statistics
- 7,046 Registered Sex Offenders in Utah
- 94.68% Compliant with Requirements of Sex Offender Registry Laws
- 1,758 (of 7,000) under Supervision through Adult Probation & Parole
- 2,402 (of 7,000) in Jail or Prison
- 2,886 (of 7,000) no longer on supervision but still required to register
Registered sex offenders in Utah live under certain constraints involving where they can live and travel, how often they must update their information on the registry, whom they can be around, etc. Below are some specifics regarding Utah's law (available first-hand here).
- Five protected zones for those convicted of a crime against a minor
(Meaning those registered for a crime against a minor cannot go on/in):
- Licensed daycares or preschools
- Swimming pools open to the public
- Public or private primary/secondary schools (not on grounds of a correctional facility)
- Community park open to the public
- Playground open to the public
- Requirements for Registering
- Out-of-state offenders must register within 10 days of entering the state, regardless of the length of stay
- Offenders under AP&P supervision shall register with AP&P
- Offenders no longer under AP&P supervision shall register with the local law enforcement (police department or sheriff's office)
- Offenders must register twice each year - once during his/her birth month, and once during the month that is six months following that month.
- Registration requirements last for the duration of the sentence and the following 10 years after termination of the sentence in some cases, and for life in more serious cases (see below for specific break down of 10-year registrations vs. life-time registrations).
- Offenders must register within three business days of every change of primary residence, any secondary residence, place of employment, vehicle information, or educational information.
- Length of Registration
- For the following convictions*, offenders must register for 10 years following the date of termination of the sentence**:
- Unlawful Sexual Activity with a Minor
- Unlawful Sexual Conduct with a 16 or 17 Year Old
- Forcible Sexual Abuse
- Lewdness (4 convictions required for registration)
- Sexual Battery (4 convictions required for registration)
- Lewdness Involving a Child
- Aggravated Human Trafficking
- Custodial Sexual Relations (if victim was under 18 years of age)
- Sexual Exploitation of a Vulnerable Adult
- *Attempting, soliciting, or conspiring to commit any felony offense listed above (or in the "life" list below)
- **Two separate convictions of any of the above = Lifetime registration
- For the following convictions, an offender must register for life*:
- Child Kidnapping
- Aggravated Kidnapping
- Enticing a Minor over the Internet
- Rape of a Child
- Object Rape
- Object Rape of a Child
- Forcible Sodomy
- Sodomy on a Child
- Sexual Abuse of a Child or Aggravated Sexual Abuse of a Child
- Aggravated Sexual Assault
- Sexual Exploitation of a Minor
- Aggravated Exploitation of Prostitution
- *Depending on the conviction date, the registration length of any of these might only be 10 years for an individual (for those sentenced before laws changed).