Welcome to NUCCC! Our goal is to help you successfully navigate your time on parole. We hope your stay here will be one which is helpful and provides you with the opportunity to adhere to the agreements you made with the Board of Pardons and Parole and successfully transition to the next phase of your supervision.

Residents who understand and follow the rules and regulations of the center and who utilize NUCCC's employment, education, and treatment services are more likely to successfully complete the program. Failure to follow any rules set forth in this manual may result in violations.

Residents are expected to read this manual and are encouraged to ask questions about anything they may not understand.

Any changes are posted within the resident area of the center.



Strip Search of Person and Substance Test
Property Search and Inventory
Photo & Center ID- replacement cost for lost cards is \$10.00
Room Assignment and Keys Issued- cost for lost keys is \$10.00 per a room key, \$5.00 per locker key & \$5.00 per a closet key.
Prescribed medications will be placed in the center med room. Non-prescribed can be kept in resident room
Clothing and Hygiene Products Issued- if needed
Bedding Issue- 2 sheets, 2 blankets, 1 pillow & pillowcase- you will be charged for any damaged items due to negligence.
Introduction of Center Rules & Regulations
Phone Call to Family / Friend to request Property Drop Off
NUCCC Orientation Meeting
Length of Center Restrictions- • 14 days - Sex Offender Program; Approval for work search privileges is based on the resident's participation in programming, therapeutic evaluations and the risk to the community. • 2 days – All Other Programs
Meeting with Assigned Case Manager, Intake Assessment for those participating in a treatment program at the TRC

⇒ Example 2 ⇒ Initial Visit with Correctional Case Manager

Visits will be scheduled upon completion of intake and orientation

- Assess needs
- Answer questions
- Review parole agreement and consent form
- Discuss program requirements and expectations
- Update assessment(s) and case action plan (CAP)
- Update emergency contact information
- Review work, work search authorization (if applicable)
- Review the request process for money, store runs, leave time etc.
- Schedule next / regular office visits

⇒ Americans with Disabilities Act

Residents requiring special accommodations due to a disability must provide a written request for supervision staff review.

- The Americans with Disabilities Act and Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, as amended, (Section 504) prohibits the Utah Department of Corrections from engaging in discrimination on the basis of disability in any program or activity.
- To request accommodations due to a disability, please complete an "Offender ADA Request and Decision Form" and submit it to the Lieutenant.
- If you have non-ADA needs, such as language, translation, indigency, please reach out to a Correctional Case Manager.
- ADA GRIEVANCE PROCESS
 - Any person who believes he/she has been denied program access or otherwise discriminated against because of a disability is encouraged to initiate a grievance by contacting the Northern Utah CCC ADA Coordinator:

• Name: Eric Barker Title: Lieutenant

Address: 2445 South Water Tower Way, Ogden, UT 84401

Telephone: 801-627-7800

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow$ Sexual Misconduct

No resident shall engage in any form of sexual/romantic contact with any other resident or staff. Violations of this rule will result in removal from the center. Sexual/romantic contact includes, but is not limited to

- Touching, body language, kissing, intercourse
- Letters, exchange of photos & drawing and phone calls
- No resident may make any form of sexual advance or suggestion to another resident, or to any staff member.
- Under the Prison Rape Elimination Act (PREA) all claims or suspicion of a PREA violation will be investigated.

⇒ ⇒ Grievances

Residents shall document efforts, and are required to resolve grievance issues on an informal basis before using the formal grievance process. The grievance process permits a written complaint within the jurisdiction of the Department, alleging personal injury, loss, or harm caused by: application or omission of a policy or practice; an action by a staff member or resident; or an incident. UDC has no jurisdiction to hear matters concerning the Board of Pardons and Parole or the court. Staff will provide necessary forms and information related to the grievance process upon request. Any resident may file a grievance regardless of status or classification.

An emergency grievance is one that involves circumstances justifying priority review to avoid delays that may subject a resident to substantial risk of personal injury or cause serious or irreparable harm.

A frivolous grievance is one that a resident knows, or should know, is without merit, is irresponsible, or has no rational basis in fact or law.

A malicious grievance is one that a resident willingly falsified information with the intent to annoy, slander or injure. Malicious and frivolous grievances may result in criminal, civil or a violation response against the resident, including restitution for costs incurred..

Residents shall submit the grievance on the proper form and have the burden of providing all facts and information regarding a complaint. Resident's grievances shall be filed by individuals and not as a group. Residents shall not be subject to retaliation for appropriate use of the grievance process. Malicious and frivolous grievances may subject the resident to criminal or civil action; including the assessment of restitution for investigative costs incurred.

- Submission to staff timeframe: 14 days from the time a resident knew about an incident.
- Staff response timeframe: 30 days

Grievance Levels

- Level One, Informal: The resident should obtain and complete the required form and submit it to the Center Designee within 14 business days.
- Level Two, Appeal: The resident should complete and submit the required form, with accompanying documentation. It must be submitted within seven days after receiving a response from Level One.
- Level Three, UDC Administration: The resident should complete and submit the required form, with accompanying documentation, to the Lieutenant. It must be submitted within seven days after receiving a response from Level Two.

A complete copy of the grievance procedures is available and will be furnished to any resident upon request.

Items that can not be grieved are:

- o ADA
- o PREA
- o BOPP or Center Disciplinary Decisions
- o GRAMA

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow$ Cell Phones

Any resident possessing and/or using a mobile phone while a resident at NUCCC agrees to the following:

- Understand center rules permitting use of a mobile phone do not supersede, limit, or change any order made by any Court or by the Utah Board of Pardons and Parole
- Understand possession is a privilege and agree to hold harmless any Utah Department of Corrections employees, contract staff, and The State of Utah in regard to any phone brought, secreted, or allowed to be brought onto NUCCC property.
- Possession and use of a mobile phone requires Case Manager's or Correctional Sergeant's prior approval and must meet the requirements.
 - Use of a phone must not violate any laws or center rules
 - Only one mobile phone per resident
 - Proof of device ownership is required (device contract or a letter from the owner)
- Upon entry into the center, phones must be surrendered to the Case manager for registration. An authorized serial # sticker which is securely attached to the phone (not on the case) is required
 - Phone registrations are limited to only one every 90 days
 - No unregistered phones are permitted inside the facility.
- Passcode must be provided upon registration and immediately upon any update. 4-digit numbered passcode is required. No pattern or biometrics permitted (fingerprint, facial, voice, etc. recognition) o Passcode may only be changed with a Case Manager approval
- Access to the internet through the use of wireless "hotspots" or wi-fi connections may be restricted, depending on direction from your CCM or NUCCC supervision, the Board of Pardons & Parole, and/or the Courts
- Per the Case Manager's direction, mobile plans may be limited to providing only talk and text service without any data or internet service
- Installation and active use of certain applications, programs, and/or plans directed by your CCM or NUCCC supervision
- Phones shall be charged within the resident's assigned room or off center Utah Department of Corrections Reentry and Rehabilitation Division BART MORTENSEN Chief RANDALL HONEY Chief 14717 South Minuteman Drive, Draper, Utah 84020 • telephone (801)

545-5574 • facsimile (801) 523-7527

- Registered phones may only be used in the following locations unless specifically directed to do so by your CCM, NUCCC supervision or contracted programming staff
 - o Assigned room
 - o Assigned section
 - o Rec yard, or outside of NUCCC
- The phone is subject to search and seizure at any time requested by certified officers acting in their capacity with Reentry and Rehabilitation.
- Possession of a phone while a resident of NUCCC authorizes officers to view all of the contents of the device which includes, but is not limited to, the device's call history, address book, contacts, calendar, photos, videos, text messages, linked "cloud" drives, other linked databases, internet usage and browser history, etc.
 - Resident agrees to share their location on their phone with staff upon request
 - Mobile phone privileges may be suspended or revoked as follows:
 - Privilege Suspension
 - o Use in location not permitted
 - o Failure to attend required classes or treatment
 - o Failure to maintain Case Action Plans or Parole Conditions
 - o Use of unauthorized accessories
 - o Sharing or lending phone with another resident
 - o Streaming content or using device to tether content to another device or screen
 - o Failure to use applications, programs and/or plans on the phone as directed
 - o Use of unapproved applications
 - o Failure to keep center fees current and maintain a zero balance by the end of each month
 - o Failure to make budgeted monthly payments to restitution, fines, or fees as directed
 - o Violation of center rules
 - o Failure to complete cleaning assignment or other duties as assigned by OMC
 - o Other as determined by supervision
 - Revocation / Permanent Loss of Privilege
 - o 3rd suspension violation
 - o Attempt to or remove, disable, circumvent, prevent, or limit the data on the phone, effects of applications, programs, and/or plans at any time, except as directed by your CCM or NUCCC supervision
 - o Live streaming any content, taking or possessing any recordings, pictures or video of residents, staff or the facility and grounds
 - o Possession or use of unregistered mobile phone/communication device inside the facility
 - o Illegal activity
 - o Other as determined by supervision

$\Rightarrow \bowtie Emergency \ Procedures$

Fire / Fire Drills

- Treat all fire alarms as if there is a fire
- When an alarm sounds, exit the building quickly and safely
- Assemble in the south parking lot (TRC side) for count
- Alert staff to any indication of fire. Do not attempt to suppress any fire

In the event of a fire:

• Before opening any door, feel the door for heat. If the door is hot, do not open it. Look for another exit out, if possible.

- When leaving a room, close the door. This will help prevent the fire from spreading. Avoid breaking windows.
- Thick smoke? Get as low as you can to the floor and crawl to the nearest exit. If possible, wet a piece of cloth and put it over the nose and mouth.
- O not panic. Most deaths in fires are not caused by burns, but by smoke inhalation.

Tampering with fire alarms, smoke detectors or sprinklers is prohibited and may result in criminal prosecution

Power Outage

- Return to and remain in the assigned room. Turn off all electrical appliances
- If unable to get to assigned room follow staff instructions

Earthquake

- Follow staff instructions
- If inside the building
 - o stay inside, avoid glass doors and windows, take cover
- If outside
 - o avoid trees, buildings, utility poles, wires, and glass
- After the earthquake
 - Exit the building through the closest exit
 - Gather in the south parking lot (TRC side) for count and further instructions

\Rightarrow Resident Property

- Property Drop Off
 - o Property drop offs are on Wednesdays from 1:00 p.m. to 8:00 p.m. and Saturdays 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. Children under 18 and pets are not allowed on property this includes the parking lot
 - One drop off per a resident.
 - Resident must be in the center for the drop off, property will be searched with a CO, resident, and person making the drop off all present
 - Only items on the property matrix are permitted, everything else will be removed from the center by the person making the drop off.
 - A one-time \$40.00 cash drop off can be made with the property drop off.
- Property is brought to this facility at your own risk, staff is NOT responsible for loss due to theft or damage.
- Residents are responsible for their own property. It is suggested that residents do not keep any
 valuable articles at the center. Residents are not allowed to borrow, lend, trade, sell, or buy
 property from other residents.
- All property (everything) must fit within two (2) totes provided by and owned by the center. The totes must be packed, with lid on, and sitting on the bed whenever the resident is off site
- Any property outside of the tote when the resident is off site is contraband.
- If a resident is designated as a walk away, placed in a secure cell, or is otherwise removed, their property will be inventoried by staff and secured in the property room. The property designee will be notified to pick up the property. If a resident absconds, their property may be held up to 30 days before it is donated and/ or disposed of.
- Residents are required to submit to searches of their person and property at staff's discretion.
- Residents do not need to be present to have any of their property searched. They will be notified if any property was confiscated. Staff will search all incoming property before it is allowed in the secure area of the facility.

General Property Guidelines

• Property items are limited to those listed in the Property Matrix. Anything else is considered contraband unless written approval is first obtained.

• Serial numbers of high value items (value exceeds \$50.00), such as cell phones, televisions and bicycles shall be registered with staff.

Walkaway/ Removal from Center

- o Property will be collected and inventoried by two staff and secured in the property room.
- Staff will attempt to notify the designee indicated to receive the property as listed on the Property Release form by phone to pick up the property.
- If no designee is provided or the designated individual(s) fail to pick up the property within the 30 days after notification, the property is considered abandoned.
- If walkaway- property designee is not contacted and property is considered abandoned after 30 days

Seized Contraband

- May be retained for evidence
- If not evidence must be removed from center within 72 hours

PROPERTY MATRIX

# Permitted	Item	Item Description
1	Alarm Clock	
1	Backpack	Clear or mesh
2	Belt	No chain, or large buckles
1	Bike Light	Set
10	Body Piercings	Studs only
5	Books / Magazines	Small clip-on light allowed
1	Bowl and Cup	TRC incentive travel mug OK
1	Bus Pass	
1	Cell phone/ charger/ portable battery pack	Only 1 cell phone per a resident on property allowed
2	Cigarette Packs	No vapes of any kind
2	Coats / Jackets	
1	Coax Cable	Up to 20'
24	Coffee / Tea / Hot Chocolate/ Creamer/ Sugar / Protein mix	Single use, individual packets or 1-12oz coffee, drink mix plastic container. No liquid.
1	Comb / Pick/ Hairbrush	Each
1	Conditioner/ Shampoo/ Soap	Each
10	Condiments	Single use, individual packets
1	Contacts & Contact Solution	Prescription contacts only
1	Water Bottle	Must be clear

1	Deodorant	no aerosol, gels with no alcohol
1	Dryer Sheets	Box (up to 120 sheets)
2	Eyeglasses	Prescription, Readers, Sunglasses
1	Fan	Personal size, no larger than 9"
6	Food	Up to six, pre-packaged, similar to NUCCC vending machine size. DRY pantry type foods. No fridge/freezer items in room.
1	Gloves	One pair
1	Hair Dryer	
1	Hair Spray	no aerosol cans
10	Hair Elastic / Ties	ponytail holder
1	Headphones	Bluetooth ok
1	Handheld Gaming Devices	Example: Nintendo Switch, PSP, Gameboy, etc. WIFI use is prohibited.
2	Headwear	
1	Hobby craft (Small)	No scissors or needles. (Plastic crochet hook okay)
1	Laundry Bag	No laundry baskets
1	Laundry Soap	Pods or powder only
1	Lighter	Basic
1	Lotion	
as approved	Medical devices	As approved
as needed	Medication - Over-the-Counter	Original container. Unopened. Cannot contain alcohol. Must be approved by staff.
as prescribed	Medication - Prescription	Retained in Med Room
1	MP3 style music player	Can NOT connect to internet
1	Nail Clipper (small)	
2 packages	Nicotine Pouches (tobacco free)	Only factory sealed packages may be brought into the center
1	Nicotine Cessation Products	
2	Notebooks/ Writing Material	
3	TVOICEOOKS/ VVIIIIIIg IVIaiciiai	

10	Pants / Shorts	Includes uniforms
1	Paperwork / Photos	Must fit into one desk drawer
1	Pillow (standard size)	New. Upon removal from the center, the pillow and case will be discarded.
2	Pillow Case	Standard size.
2	Quarters (roll)	
12	Razor - Disposable Only	
1	Razor - Electric	Small compact kit in case
1	Religious Jewelry or Therapeutic Item	Not to exceed 2".
1	Ring	Finger, no stones
1	Scarf	
1	Shaving Cream	
10	Shirts	Includes uniforms. Sleeveless and midriff shirts are not allowed
4	Shoes / Sandals / Boots / Slippers / Foot Attire	Pair
10	Socks	Pair
1	Spork	
1	Stress Ball/ Fidget	Small to Medium
1	Suit	
1	Table Top type games	Example: Dominos, playing cards
2	Ties	
1	Toothbrush/ Toothpaste	
2	Towels/ Washcloths	
1	T.V. / Small digital Antenna	24" TV or smaller flat panel. No universal remotes allowed. No DVD Players
10	Underwear	
1	Wallet	
1	Watch	Bluetooth &/ or Smart Watch ok

Clothing

It is not the intent of NUCCC staff or its administration to limit the personal taste, style or clothing expression of residents. The need to maintain a safe, secure, sanitary, and positive community image may at times override individual fashion preference.

- Residents will display modesty in their dress and actions at all times and be fully and properly clothed in public areas on and off the center (shirt, properly fitting pants or shorts, shoes and socks).
- Clothing and presentation manner will be male or gender-neutral.
- Any style of dress that is disruptive or interferes with the safety and security of the center is prohibited. Images or verbiage depicting alcohol, drugs, or sexual references are disruptive and interfere.
- Not wear, display, use or possess any insignias, emblems or clothing associated with a specific gang(s) including, but not limited to: belt buckles, jewelry, caps/hats, jackets, shoes/shoe laces, scarves/bandanas, shirts inscribed "In Memory Of" a deceased or incarcerated gang member, or other articles of clothing modified to represent a particular gang(s).
- Residents will refrain from sleeping in the nude and take reasonable precautions to avoid embarrassment to themselves and others.
- Launder clothes often enough to keep clothes clean and free from odor.

Grooming

- Shower and take care of other matters of personal hygiene on a regular basis.
- Haircuts and facial hair must be clean, neat and well groomed. Hair color may not be altered or changed.
- Hair styles or grooming associated with a specific gang must be covered using a center-approved head cover when outside the assigned room.

Appearance

- Headwear and sunglasses may not be worn in the center.
- Gang and sexually explicit tattoos must be covered unless in an assigned room.
- \$10.00 fee for a new identification if appearance is altered in any way.

⇒ ⊨ Indigent

Indigent Status Request & Approval

Residents submit a written request to the Correctional Case Manager. Residents may be considered indigent if they:

- Have less than \$20 in their account for 3 consecutive months
- Are unable to secure employment due to program requirements or other extenuating circumstances
- Are new to the center and not yet employed
- Have no other means of obtaining a property drop or funds

The center provides the resident's basic needs of food, clothing, personal hygiene items and mail privileges. The only need for additional money is to purchase limited amenities and commissary.

Indigent residents may be provided the following, without cost and as reasonably needed:

Personal hygiene items (toothbrush, toothpaste, soap, shampoo, small comb, disposable razor)

Duplication of legal papers, Postage (postage for 5 letters per week) Writing materials, Laundry detergent and laundry facilities (laundry soap and access to a machine weekly) Aspirin or aspirin substitute.

⇒ ⇔ Contraband Lockers

The property matrix is a list of type and quantity of items that residents can have in their possession. Any item not on the list is considered contraband.

Staff must be present when residents access contraband lockers outside of these times.

Alcohol, illegal items or anything against your parole conditions may not be stored in your locker. A larger work tool locker may be assigned if needed.

⇒ ⇒ Resident Finance

It is the policy of the Utah Department of Corrections that NUCCC will:

- Monitor offender's income and expenditures, including fines, restitution, fees, and family support payments.
- Collect funds received by offenders.
- Record the financial transactions according to generally acceptable accounting principles.
- Offer offenders instruction in budgeting and money management through the help of volunteer services.
- Ensure that appropriate disbursements are made promptly and accurately.

Funds In

- All money residents receive, will be submitted to center staff that will provide a receipt to the
 resident. Failure to submit paychecks or any other income will result in disciplinary action.
 Offenders are not allowed to cash paychecks unless authorized by center staff. All paychecks will
 be processed through the resident accounting system.
- Residents may not turn in cash or personal checks for deposit. They will be asked to obtain either
 a money order, payroll check, or a cashier's check to submit to staff for receipt. Residents
 receiving tips must report earnings to their Correctional Case Manager (CCM) and must obtain
 money orders regularly.
- A copy of the pay stub must be submitted to their CCM in order to keep accurate records of deductions (payroll checks must document hours, salary, taxes and other deductions). Employers must be informed a check stub is required.
- No monetary gifts from family or friends over \$50.00 will be allowed except in exigent circumstances with Sergeant approval. It is expected that the resident will be able to financially support themselves in order to have successful completion from the program.

Funds Out

- Money transfers must be turned into the Control Room. Money transfers are to be filled out completely. Checks made to individuals or businesses must have a complete address. Money will be added to the RAPID card.
- Service fee money transfers are made payable to "Northern Utah Community Correctional Center." Each resident will negotiate a budget with their CCM (fines, restitution, and child support will be included as determined by Board of Pardons or Court Order).
- All money transfers except those for emergencies and center service fees require the approval of the resident's Correctional Case Manager.
- Residents in their first week at the center can receive money (up to 40 dollars) from family/friends in cash form. The 40 dollars is for the entire week running from Thursday to Wednesday. Residents shall not receive more than 40 dollars in one week without prior approval from staff. After the initial week all money dropped off to residents must be from an approved sponsor, in the form of a money order. Residents must then hand the money order in and submit a money transfer for the amount needed.
 - o Employed
 - o Service fees current
 - o No unsatisfied disciplinary hours/actions
 - o Savings plan in place
- Residents may only have \$80.00 cash on their person without prior approval.

Lost/Voided Checks

- If a resident decides not to cash a check that has been issued, the resident must return the check to staff before the account can be credited for that amount.
- If a resident claims a check has been lost, destroyed, or damaged beyond recognition, staff will request a stop payment. The resident is responsible for service charges assessed by the bank for the stop payment. The amount will not be credited to the resident's ledger until the bank statement covering the date of the stop payment is received at the center.
- Checks are not valid 6 months after the date of issue.

Release of Account Balance

Any balance remaining in the offender account after center financial obligations and restitution/fines have been paid, will be released in the following manner:

- Successful Release the balance of the account will be released to the resident via RapidPay card 3-5 days upon release. If a resident does not have a RapidPay card, a check will be mailed to the address on file within 3-5 days.
- Transfer to another CCC- access to the balance will be available through the Offender Accounting system at the new location.
- Return to Utah State Prison access to the balance will be available through the Offender Accounting system.
- Walkaway the balance will be frozen until the offender is apprehended.
- Death Handled by UDC finance Supervision Fees
- Supervision fees are not charged while residing at a CCC.

Center Check Cashing Policy

- If you are eligible for leave, you are expected to structure this on your leave form.
- If you are not eligible for leave and are employed, you may get approval from your CCM to cash your check on the way to or from work once per week. You must notify staff in advance of the location you will be cashing the check.
- If you are on work search, you may cash your center check when issued. This must be done in conjunction with all other work search related activities (obtaining ID, shopping for personal care and clothing, etc.). Pre-approval from staff is required.
- If you are on program lockdown, staff will transport once per week as staff are available.
- If you are on administrative/disciplinary lockdown, check cashing will not be permitted until you are off lockdown.

Contracts

• Residents are not permitted to enter into any financial contract without written permission from their Correctional Case Manager.

Food Subsidies

- The use of food subsidies (Horizon Cards, Bishop's storehouse, etc.) by center residents is strictly prohibited. Residents are expected to obtain employment sufficient to meet their financial needs by offenders;
- Record the financial transactions according to generally acceptable accounting principles;
- Ensure that appropriate disbursements are made promptly and accurately.

Center Fees

• Center fees are \$6.00 per night and are billed nightly. Residents must submit money transfers bi-weekly and center fees are deducted from the resident's CACTAS account. Center fees may not be paid ahead.

Other Banking and Checking Accounts

• Residents may not have other financial accounts without approval from your Correctional Case Manager.

Receipts for Purchases

• Receipts for all purchases must be retained as proof of purchase and proper use of the funds.

Gift Cards

• Not permitted.

Financial Assistance

Requests for assistance through the L.D.S welfare system for items such as bus tokens, toiletries, clothing, bicycles, food handler permits and assistance in obtaining birth certificates and identification must be pre-approved by your CCM and the L.D.S. Branch President.

⇒ RESIDENT SPECIFIC RULES

- Adhere to center rules, UDC policy and State and Federal law
- Resident curfew will be imposed Sunday Thursday 11:00 p.m. to 5:00 a.m. and Friday- Saturday 12:00 a.m. to 5:00 a.m. Movement will not be permitted except for in resident sections.
- Exceptions can be made by the security shift lead on a case by case basis.
- Dress Code and Grooming Standards
- Sunglasses off inside center
- Professional Conduct Maintain an acceptable level of grooming and appearance.
- Treat fellow residents, staff, contractors and visitors with dignity and respect the boundaries of others
- Physical Contact No physical contact is permitted, body piercing, tattooing, etc.
- Sexual Relationships Sexual contact and/or sexually related or explicit communications with residents, contract providers and staff is prohibited
- Lounging Laying or sitting on the floors in common areas or placing feet on any furniture or walls is prohibited.
- No lending or exchange of money or personal property
- Residents assigned to one section are not permitted to enter other sections
- Any possession of controlled substances, possession of weapons, theft or fighting will be considered high level violations, possible new charges and a warrant to return to prison.

RULE VIOLATION PROCESS

Discipline procedures are maintained to reasonably ensure the safety of residents, staff and visitors/public. A resident's expected conduct is detailed in the center Orientation Manual. When residents violate these rules, an officer may issue anything ranging from a verbal warning to a notice to the BOPP depending on severity/frequency

Sanctions which may be imposed as a result of violations while a resident of NUCCC

Sanctions which may be imposed as a result of violations while a resident of NOCCC

Warnings

• May be given for first violations of a minor nature

Demerits

- Result in loss of leave time (for those eligible for leave) or extra duty hours (those not eligible for or taking leave) Demerits shall be satisfied within one week of issue. They are imposed at the rate of one hour multiplied by the resident's level
- Example: a resident on Level 3 with one citation will lose three hours of leave time or, if not eligible for or taking leave, complete three hours of extra duty work.

Violation & Response

• A violation of parole will be submitted upon discovery and a response identified. Sanctions will be determined based on the response and incentive matrix (RIM).

Temporary Immediate Action / Non Punitive Restriction / Isolation

• Based on the safety and security needs of NUCCC, the center may initiate various restrictions or isolate an individual prior to the resolution of a violation.

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow Counts$

- Residents will move immediately to and be in their room within five minutes of count being announced
- No movement is allowed while count is in progress
- Residents must remain in their rooms and dressed until the count is cleared
- Residents in therapy when count is called are required to remain there until count is cleared
- Stand Up Count: The 9:00 p.m. count requires residents to stand up, face the counting officer, and show photo identification. The officer will positively identify each resident.
- Counts are conducted at: 0900, 1330, 1700, 2100, 0130 and 0330

⇒ ⇒ Accountability

The resident is responsible for planning, structuring, obtaining approval for and keeping the center informed of their whereabouts. An accountability sheet must be completed for all off center activities except for work, leave time or with a staff member. The sheet must be submitted by 10:00 p.m. the night prior. Residents must return to the center when approved activities are completed.

- Accountability sheet must be retained by the resident while off center
- Center identification must be on your person at all times while on and off center.
- Residents may only go to the locations approved on their accountability sheet
- Special approval is required for urgent situations
- The Sign In / Sign Out Log in the secure hallway must be completed
- No loitering in any location longer than approved
- Schedule interruptions must be communicated immediately to staff and may require confirmation

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow Sponsors$

General Sponsor Guidelines

- All leave time must be with an approved sponsor, sponsors apply online at corrections.utah.gov
- All sponsors will be informed of the resident's crime and of special conditions of probation/parole as well as any other conditions that the center has imposed
- Sponsors must be approved before leave applications may be submitted
- There is no limit to the number of sponsors allowed
- A sponsor may be approved for multiple residents; however, only one resident may be taken on leave at a time
- Both resident and sponsor agree to abide by all of the terms of leave as explained in the Sponsor Application and Agreement.

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow Visitation$

- Visitation is a privilege afforded to residents, not a right
- Visitors must be approved sponsors and no more than two per resident per a visit

- Visitation is Saturday and Sunday 2:00 pm 4:00 pm
- Visiting is only allowed in the programing area
- All visits will be monitored by staff
- Visits may be terminated at any time at the discretion of staff on duty
- Residents who are on restriction are not entitled to on-center visiting
- Residents may not greet their visitors in the parking lot and may not walk their visitors to their cars after the visit. All visits begin and end in the programming area
- No residents shall engage in any form of inappropriate physical contact with a visitor/sponsor while on center. Sexual/romantic contact includes, but is not limited to kissing, excessive touching, intercourse, etc. Violations of this rule will result in the sponsor being removed from the center and may also result in suspension and/or termination of sponsorship.

⇒ Medications, Medical, Dental and Therapy

All medications must be inventoried and approved by staff. Some medications will be retained for scheduled pill lines. Some over the counter medications may be retained in the room by the resident All medical cannabis in the center shall be retained for pill lines.

Medical cannabis in a form which cannot be dispensed from the pill line as well as vape pens/materials may be kept in the resident's assigned contraband locker for consumption off center property. Vaping within the building is prohibited by law.

Medical Appointments

- Inform staff and request assistance
- All medical appointments must be verified by staff prior and listed on accountability sheet
- Residents must inform medical staff of their parole and correctional center status and wherever possible request medication which will not cause a positive urinalysis test
- All residents are responsible for their own medications, medical and dental care.
- Residents who want to be seen by a doctor can request to seek medical attention.
- The center's programming unit offers many therapeutic opportunities such as substance abuse therapy, sex offender therapy, mental health therapy and life skills.
- Residents have the responsibility to participate in therapeutic groups if it is part of their Case Action Plan and/or parole agreement. Their level of participation is considered by the center for advancement decisions and when determining the resident release date

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow Work Search$

- Verified appointments are required for off-center work search except for WorkForce Services.
- Unless disability prohibits participation, all residents are required to participate in work search until full-time employment is obtained.
- Loitering in any location is prohibited. The resident must return to the center if not actively attempting to find employment. Meeting friends and/or family and/or having them accompany you on work search is not permitted.

Eligibility

- Residents are eligible for work search after completing the following:
 - Center orientation
 - Meet with and obtain approval from Correctional Case Manager to participate in work search
 - Approval is recorded in the O-Track work search approval screen.

Requirements

- Work Search Days / Hours
 - o Days are Monday through Friday, excluding all state & federal holidays.
 - Hours are 8:00 to 12:00 OR 12:30 to 16:30 unless for a verified appointment or other approval has been obtained

All unemployed residents approved for work search are required to work search 4 hours per day. Work search may be suspended due to emergencies, weather etc.

Residents with scheduled interviews during non-work search times or on the weekend must submit a request for verification and approval by the center staff. If a potential employer requests an interview, which may result in a late return to the center from work search, call the center. If it can be verified by staff, it will be permitted.

Work Search Boundaries

 Work search outside of Weber County is generally not permitted, however residents may work search in Box Elder County (south of and including Brigham City) and Davis County (north of and including Kaysville) if they are being driven by a sponsor, have a verified appointment, and approval from an Correctional Case Manager

Unauthorized Work Search Locations/Activities

• Any location where there is no legitimate expectation of obtaining employment.

Resources

- WorkForce Services, may go for four hours, three times per week
- Vocational Rehabilitation, ID & birth certificate walk-in services
- LDS Employment Services
- Cottages of Hope (ID cards, birth certificates during scheduled time only.

Other Activities

• The purchase of work clothing, tools, cashing of checks and haircuts may be done in conjunction with work search as long as such activities are approved by a control room staff, are documented on the Accountability Sheet and do not occur more than once per week

Secondary Work Search

- For residents with employment and looking for another or an additional job
- Approval from the Correctional Case Manager
- Limited to verified appointments only
- WorkForce Services is one day per week for one (4) hour period

Eligibility / Verification / Approval

- Full-time (32 hours per week or more) employment is required
- A Work, School, or Training Information & Approval form must be submitted to staff on duty as soon as a job offer is received
- Temporary agency jobs can be conducted over the phone with the agency and center staff in order for the resident to start working immediately

Pay

- Must be hourly wages or salary earning at least minimum wage, no under the table work
- Employer must provide salary and tax information and hours worked
- All paychecks must be turned into the control room to be deposited into the resident's account
- Pay stubs must remain available and provided upon request

Schedule

- Shifts longer than 12 hours in a 24 hour period require control room staff approval, travel time to and from work is not included in time calculation
- All work scheduled on a holiday requires additional approval and verification from staff

Work Transportation / Related Travel

- Residents are responsible for their own transportation to and from work
- Residents must go directly to work and return directly to the center after work unless prior approval is obtained.

Employment Attendance & Performance

- Maintain accountability. Any employment with varying job site locations requires the resident to stay in regular contact with the center and provide new location updates.
- Residents thinking of quitting their job should first staff this with their Correctional Case Manager. It is encouraged to provide a two weeks' notice prior to quitting employment
- Prohibited & Restricted Employment
- Self employment or 10-99 reported work
- Businesses where alcoholic beverages are the primary items of sale or where residents are required to serve alcoholic beverages
- Locations where accountability concerns cannot be addressed
- Driving jobs are generally not permitted. Prior permission to seek a driving job must be obtained from your Correctional Case Manager

⇒ ⇒ Leave Time

Program Name	Level 1	Level 2	Level 3	Level 4
Sex Offense	2-6 hr leave	2-10 hr leave	2-16 hr leave	2-24 hr leave
Substance Abuse	2-8 hr leave	2-16 hr leave	2-24 hr leave	1-54 hr leave
Stabilization	2-8 hr leave	NA	NA	NA
Transition	2-8 hr leave	NA	NA	NA
	-30 days	+30 days	+60 days	+90 days
PVP	NA	1-8 hr leave	1-10 hr leave	1-12 hr leave

Qualification for Leave Time

- Have an approved sponsor
- Must work (travel not included) a minimum of 32 hours the previous week to be eligible for leave time.
- Leave time week is calculated from Wednesday to Tuesday.
- Leave time hours are determined by program and level.
- Level advancement will be effective for the following leave week.
- Leave times will not be combined to increase continuous time away from the center.

- Leave time may not interfere with the resident's center obligations or therapy. Leave time may be modified or canceled by center staff.
- When residents have jobs with days off other than Saturday and Sunday, their weekend leave may be taken on their days off.
- Residents placed on restriction as a result of a violation response are not eligible for leave time.

Leave Structure

- Leave time requests must be submitted on a Leave form to your Correctional Case Manager
- When eligible for leave, the resident is expected to do all store runs, shopping, errands and medical appointments while on leave.
- Structuring leaves which conflict with count and pill line times will delay departure from the center
- All leaves requested that are not overnight, must be between the hours of 06:00 am and 10:00 pm.

Holiday Leave

- May only be taken on approved holidays, up to 12 hours if eligible
- May not be combined with any other leave

Overnight Leave

- Overnight leave can only be taken if the resident is eligible for 24 or more hours on the date leave is taken
- When leave time is used overnight, residents must be at their sponsor's residence between 10:00 p.m. and 6:00 a.m.

Hardship Exceptions

• The use of 2 leaves in one day is not permitted except in conjunction with the use of a 24-hour or longer period leave, or by written request, approved by supervision in case of hardship. Distance is considered a hardship if the sponsor must travel further than 100 miles, one-way, to the center.

Signing out on Leave

• The resident and sponsor report to the control room, check out with a staff member and sign the Leave Request Form before the resident leaves the center.

Conduct on Leave

- Follow structure and times on the approved leave form
- Contact the center when changing locations. Staff may require further contact if they feel it is warranted.
- Call center staff if an emergency or problem occurs which affects the timing of the leave structure
- While on leave, residents are expected to conduct themselves in a responsible manner. Sponsors will be suspended for a minimum of 30 days should any violation occur while on leave and the entire sponsorship process must be completed again.
- Residents must always be accessible by phone while on leave.
- Overnight leave without a phone is not permitted
- Residents are not allowed to leave the state during leave time.
- Residents are not allowed to drive vehicles while on leave.
- If any resident is found in violation of any leave time policies, the leave time may be canceled.

Signing in After Leave

- Both the sponsor and resident must report to the control room
- The sponsor must again sign the Leave Request Form
- The resident must check in with staff at the control room
 - Sex Offense Sponsors / Leave Time
 - A full disclosure of sex offense(s) to each sponsor by the resident with a therapist present is required
 - Residences where a sex offense resident spends more than 10 nights a year at must be listed as a secondary residence on the sex offender registry

- Residents who have a sex offense with minor victims may not visit parks, shopping malls or other areas where children are present or are expected to be present.
- Sex offense residents may not use the internet while on leave.
- Sex offense residents are permitted to go to attend movies at a theater upon advancement to Level 3. All movie information, i.e. title, start time and theater numbers must be listed on the leave sheet prior to approval.

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow$ Transportation

Residents are responsible for their own approved transportation. Residents must identify and have approval for whichever method of transportation is planned.

Walking

- Trespassing is not allowed through the private property surrounding the center. Do not leave any items outside of the facility. The property owners do not wish to have litter on their property.
- Walking on the railroad tracks and I-15 is also not permitted

Bicycle

- Personally owned bikes must be registered with the center. An affixed serial # tag is required.
- All bicycles must be parked on the center bike racks
- Public Transportation
 - o Bus / Train
 - o Buses and trains are permitted to use at your own expense
- Ride Hailing Services (Uber, Lyft, etc.)
 - Require prior Correctional Case Manager approval
- e-Scooter / e-Bike
 - May only be charged outside where wall plugs are available. May not use extension cords or surge protectors for more availability. 100% at your own risk. Must be registered.

Sponsors

- Sponsors may transport residents to work or on a work search. The sponsor must check the resident in and out of the center at the control room.
- Restriction / Program Lockdown
 - Critical travel only
 - Residents on restriction must remain with an officer
 - Residents may not drive any motor or recreational vehicle while a resident of the center without advanced approval from center staff
 - Residents are restricted from having a vehicle

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow$ Substance Use

Use of alcohol on or off center, non-prescribed medication or illegal substance are not permitted. Residents may be required to start a substance abuse program, restart a program, restart a level or be removed for substance abuse.

- All residents are subject to breath and urine testing at any time for any reason.
- A sample must be submitted within one hour of request.
- Water may be provided.

- A failure/ refusal to produce a sample when requested will result in the same violation as a positive test.
- Consideration may be given to residents who have documented approval from supervision or medical conditions which require alternate methods of obtaining samples.

Residents will clean their assigned rooms daily. Cleaning supplies will be provided. The center will be inspected daily for cleanliness, disrepair and damage.

- Occupancy Rooms may be occupied by those assigned to that room only
- Damage No objects attached to doors, mirrors, walls or ceiling by any method
- Conservation Turn off all utilities and appliances when not in use or not in room
- Linen Exchange
 - Soiled sheets will be exchanged weekly as posted
 - o Soiled blankets and/or comforters may be exchanged monthly as posted
 - Exchange is one for one
 - Loss or destruction of bedding items will result in restitution payments for the damaged item(s).

⇒ ⇒ Deliveries

No food, items or packages will be accepted from delivery services such as Doordash, Instacart, etc. All online purchases required prior Correctional Case Manager approval. Food items may not be delivered or dropped off.

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow Laundry$

- There are free washers and dryers onsite.
- Laundry must be done in the center unless structured on leave time
- Only residents doing laundry are allowed in the laundry room
- The center is not responsible for any lost or stolen items

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow Mail$

Residents are allowed to send and receive mail freely and without censorship and with a limited degree of privacy. In-coming mail is processed by center staff. To ensure the safety and security of the center, staff may open any mail, except legal and other privileged mail. Mail handout is at the control room window, typically at 20:00 each M-F.

- Mail may be rejected for delivery if the contents may negatively affect the safety, security, order, or rehabilitative goals of the department. The resident and sender will be notified of all rejected correspondence. The resident or sender can appeal the decision to the director.
- Residents will be asked to open any personal, legal, or other privileged mail in the presence of staff if there is a question about the contents. To be considered privileged mail, the envelope must be commercially printed with the address of the law firm, attorney, legal entity name, or name or title of the public official. Handwritten return addresses are not acceptable.
- Media mail is not considered to be privileged mail. Outgoing privileged mail may be inspected with reasonable suspicion. This will occur in the presence of the resident. The mail may be rejected for reasonable cause, but only with the approval of supervision.
- Written communication between residents in any community correctional center and inmates of any federal, state, county or local correctional facility is subject to the approval of all institutions involved and must be initiated by the in-custody party.

$\Rightarrow \bowtie$ Meals and Food

Residents are provided three meals per day. The meals at the center are designed by a dietician to ensure that daily nutritional values are met. Vending machines are also available and residents are permitted to purchase non-perishable food items and are "use at your own risk". The center will not reimburse any money lost.

Food items are not allowed outside the dining room. Soda may leave the dining room as long as it is in a bottle with a cap.

General Meal Times

MEAL	START TIME	END TIME
Breakfast	6:00 a.m.	6:30 a.m.
Lunch	12:00 p.m.	12:30 p.m.
Dinner	6:00 p.m.	6:30 p.m.
Saturdays and Holidays		
Brunch	10:30 a.m.	11:00 a.m.
Dinner	6:00 p.m.	6:30 p.m.

Special Diets

- Medical submit documentation from a physician to Correctional Case Manager
- Religious submit request on a Resident Request form

Sack Lunch

- Residents who are unable to report to meal line due to work, therapy or medical issues when the meal is served may request a sack lunch
- Residents who work across two meals may request a second lunch sack .

Eating Out

- Food delivery to the center is not permitted
- Employed residents may leave their work site on a lunch break to purchase (at their own cost) and eat a meal at a nearby restaurant

Kitchen Workers

• By assignment only. Food preparation area / kitchen is off limits to all others

$\Rightarrow \bowtie Movies$

All movies on center will be screened by staff prior to viewing

⇒ ⇒ Recreation

Recreation privileges may be canceled for an individual or the center for disruptive or problematic behavior. No recreation for residents with demerits, room restriction, center restriction or administrative lock down.

- Use of exercise equipment is at your own risk. Exercise equipment is to remain in the room and must be kept cleaned and organized.
- Outside Recreation

- When staffing permits, recreation in the fenced yard behind the center is permitted for eligible residents timeframes may vary on Saturdays and Sundays.
- o Participation is voluntary and at your own risk
- Center dress code standards

Activities and Equipment

- Equipment may be checked out from staff
- Tackle football and hanging on the basketball rims is not allowed
- Smoking/Outdoor yard time
 - The smoking area is considered a privilege and may be closed at any time for any reason either individually or as a whole center.
 - The smoking area must remain clean at all times.
 - No smoking within 25 ft of any building entrance
 - Stay at least five feet away from any fence line, out-buildings, or out of bounds markings.
 - Residents with demerit hours will not be allowed out, until they are completed.
 - Any resident found smoking inside the building at any time may receive new criminal charges.
 - No Vapes/E-cigarettes of any kind.
- Conditions for area to be open and used
 - Smoking area may be opened as soon as 07:00 am
 - Contingent upon all indoor common areas being cleaned prior to opening.
 - Dining room, Day room area, library and hallways
 - Residents may go in and out throughout the day, with the exception of counts and meal times. Occasionally may be closed for deliveries or construction.
 - The yard will reopen after count is cleared and the sections are clean.
 - The yard will reopen after meals, once the dining room and common areas are clean
 - Being out there is not a valid excuse for missing pill lines or any other obligation.
 - The smoking area will always be closed by 20:45 (May be earlier due to sun-setting time
 or inclement weather) and will be inspected. If the area is left with cigarette butts or
 garbage, it will delay or may cancel opening the next morning.
- Deliveries, Garbage pickup, Yard or Other Maintenance during open hours
 - o If any of these events happen while you are out there, you are expected to move completely off the paved pathways and/or out of the way of any area it pertains to.

$\Rightarrow \Rightarrow$ Apartment Search

Apartment search is permitted within one month of release with approval from your Correctional Case Manager. Approval must be recorded in the O-Track work search approval screen

- Contact potential rental locations by phone and determine rental information, cost and availability
- Reasonable requests shall be submitted on a resident request form. Staff will make every attempt to process them within 24 hours.
- Boundaries are limited to the geographical location approved by the Correctional Case Manager
- All apartment searches begin and end at the center

- Days Apartment search is permitted Monday through Friday, excluding all state & federal
 holidays, unless other approval has been obtained. Only the amount of time to reasonably
 complete the structured search will be granted
- All possible housing opportunities should be explored in a geographical area before moving onto the next. Traveling long distances in order to place one application should be avoided where possible. All possible employment or housing opportunities should be explored

⇒ ⇒ Center Release

Residents are released from the center once they meet the requirements for their program and are compliant with their conditions of parole. Release typically requires:

- No pending disciplinary action
- Treatment/program completion and approval for release
- Current on service fees
- Regular payments towards restitution (if owed)
- Address approved by AP&P

Address Verification Request

- Only one address may be submitted at a time
- NUCCC Address Verification Request form is completed and submitted to the Correctional Case Manager
- If the address is being rented, the name and contact information for the landlord must be provided so contact can be made

Address Verification Process

- Correctional Case Manager forwards the address to the office which supervises that address
- An agent will be assigned to verify the appropriateness of the address
- Verification may take up to 2 full calendar weeks (10 business days) from the day assigned to the agent. Be patient. DO NOT contact the office the address was assigned to.
- The results of the investigation will be sent to the Correctional Case Manager

Potential Address Denial Criteria

- Weapons (guns, knives, archery equipment, etc.)
- Drugs
- Alcohol
- Vicious animals
- Security systems or cameras
- Anyone else on parole or probation staying in the home

RELEASE DAY REQUIREMENTS

☐ Room inspection and return sheets/blankets
☐ Return ID card and Keys
☐ Property may be searched for center property
☐ Sergeant approval for release
☐ Remaining funds will be loaded to your RapidCard (may be delayed if you are released outside of
regular business hours).